Inspired by Sugimoto

January 4, 2007

After Diane and I left the Sugimoto exhibit at the Modern Art Museum of Fort Worth (see Diane’s posting below), I got some inspiration. We happened to have a camera, so I decided to snap some pictures around the exterior of the museum.

Looking at Richard Serra’s Vortex I decided to use that for several of the pictures. Diane took a few pictures of me dwarfed by Vortex and inside it. I also took pictures of Diane inside and outside, as well as another one looking up from the interior of Vortex.

After the museum visit, Diane and I went to Montgomery Plaza to use part of the Starbucks gift card I got from my mother-in-law. However, before getting our usual mocha and vanilla latte, I took some more pictures. These included a telephone pole obscuring Pier One corporate headquarters, a railroad crossing that happened to have no cars, and a set of telephone poles and street lamps next to the railroad.

As you can see, I have a long way to go before attempting to mount my own exhibit. Still, I think my pictures are a pretty decent (if amateurish) attempt at artiness.

Leave a Reply

