Happy birthday to me…

December 21, 2006

To my regular audience of three readers, I was busy yesterday (12/20) celebrating my 34th birthday. No big fetes, but that’s just as well. (Sounds like a stereotypical librarian, eh?)

After breakfast, I opened two presents from Diane. One was a video of Daria: Is It College Yet?, starring the sardonic titular animated character. For those of you who don’t know, she originally appeared as a foil to the dimwitted duo Beavis and Butt-head before moving on to her own series. (I had always hoped that I would meet someone like Daria, and Diane answered such prayers.) I also got James Bond and Philosophy, which is part of the “Popular Culture and Philosophy” book series. What I’ve read so far sounds interesting, and I look forward to perusing it during the holidays.

Diane and I took off from Fort Worth for the other side of the Dallas-Fort Worth Metroplex, dining at Cheesecake Factory for lunch and wandering North Park mall. We didn’t buy anything; just some “mallratting” and people-watching. I played around a little in the mall’s Apple store, trying to figure out if a Mac is right for me and drooling over the iPods. After that, Diane and I absconded for the Half-Price Books “mothership” store, which is a very dangerous thing (especially for two librarians). I got used compact discs of Mahler’s Second Symphony (“Resurrection”) and Strauss’ Ein Heldenleben (the versions of which are likely out-of-print by now), as well as a book about Apocalypse Now. Diane got a few travel books, an audio book, and a book about filmmaking that might be useful for her research. We finished with dinner at Pei Wei, a visit to a nearby Whole Foods, and a trip to Borders in an abortive attempt to buy Diane’s parents a present (some classic Johnny Carson episodes). She was able to get a recording of “Essential Debussy” from Deutsche Grammophon.

If you seek library, technology, or higher learning didactics here, I’m sorry to disappoint… just a typical “everyday life” blog entry, and a little insight into my personal life. Such glimpses seem healthy, and makes one seem a little human, too.

One Response to “Happy birthday to me…”

  1. Jason Says:

    Unfortunately, my birthday also commemorates a great loss. On the 10th anniversary of his death, here’s a tribute to Carl Sagan.


Leave a Reply

