Okay. So now what?

December 6, 2006

I have heard about blogs for quite a while now. Quite frankly, I have never really understood the fuss. When I first began to understand the phenomenon, I sniffed to myself that humans had been “blogging” since we learned how to write. Furthermore, I have generally been unimpressed with blogs for a variety of reasons:

  • Bloggers can purport to be experts on a topic, when a good number of them really are not.

  • Related to the above, bloggers can spread “information” without waiting to contextualize it.

  • Bloggers link to stories related to the overall blog topic or to their own personal interests, but they do not bother to write anything interesting or insightful themselves.

  • Some bloggers have little more to contribute than their own solipsistic ramblings about life “dramas.”

Maybe I’m an out-of-touch Luddite, or I just haven’t found the right blogs. Nevertheless, a good number of the ones I have found leave me underwhelmed. Of course, one could say that about any other medium. Still, the number of high-quality blogs seems rather abyssmal, compared to writings from other types of online and print resources. Nevertheless, like other modes of communication and information resources, blogs could have great potential. (I have similarly ambivalent feelings about Wikipedia, but that might make a good future blog topic.)

Although it’s an older technology, television is a perfect example of a mode of communication that unnecessarily gets a bad reputation (even after 80 years). Some people talk about how horrible TV is, because it supposedly makes people “passive.” However, I think it depends on how people watch it. (Hey! Another blog topic!) And why should you “kill your television,” anyway? It doesn’t have that much control over you, unless you allow it to do so. I prefer to tame it, or even ignore it until 10 PM for Jon Stewart, Stephen Colbert, and David Letterman.

In any case, despite my reservations about blogs, I have decided to start one of my own. I’m not sure if it will have a “following.” However, as a warning to the three people who will view my blog regularly, I don’t see myself posting every day. I could not possibly have interesting insights or groundbreaking information to share on a daily basis. (I don’t know how regular bloggers do it, actually.) Nevertheless, I do hope to have some interesting discussions on here about librarianship and higher education, though not necessarily together. With technology being integral to both, I will include postings on that as well. (My wife, who is an information scientist, has more or less influenced my thoughts on technology and information in general.) In addition, I might take a few side excursions into music, film, and the other arts as a change of pace.

4 Responses to “Okay. So now what?”


  1. […] Just as I’m getting into posting almost-daily entries on my blog, Joseph Rago at The Wall Street Journal writes of “The Blog Mob.” Still, I agree with many of his concerns, which I more or less mention in my very first blog. […]


  2. […] month of blogging In my first posting, I actually wrote about blogging. My initial skepticism about blogging has softened, but I still […]


  3. […] and finding serenity (now) In my first posting and my one month anniversary posting, I discuss my initial apprehensions about blogging and my […]


  4. It’s best, however, to allow stucco cure the recommended
    time frame if at all possible.


Leave a Reply

