Quantifying Nerdiness

September 12, 2007

Via Jennifer’s blog, I found the NerdTest. This helps anyone taking it determine what type of nerd they are, based on five factors. Here are my results:


NerdTests.com says I'm an Uber Cool High Nerd.  What are you?  Click here!

Actually, my five scores do not surprise me much. My heart is in history and literature, but I also know quite a bit about science fiction and just enough about comic books to BS my way at a SciFiComCon (or whatever it’s called). Remembering some science facts, as well as my admiration for Carl Sagan, probably helped boost my score as a Science/Math nerd, but it still wasn’t enough to get a sufficiently high score. My score is pretty low in Technology/Computer, mainly because a lot of the questions relate to things I never needed to do at work or in my spare time (such as taking things apart and coding). It might also explain my own cautious attitude towards technology. As for Dumb/Dork/Awkward, I’m not sure that counts because such people could only be considered nerds if they have an interest in at least one of the other four fields of nerddom. Or is it Nerddom? Or Nerdom? Well, if none of them is a word, one of them should be!

I don’t understand my overall labelling as an Uber (actually, Ueber) Cool High Nerd, however. Based on my score, I wonder it it may have to do with being “cool” (or having sang froid) towards various aspects of Nerdom. Whatever it is, I would be interested in finding out.

(Ach! Ended sentence in preposition. There goes my H/L score.)

2 Responses to “Quantifying Nerdiness”

  1. Jennifer Says:

    Okay, I definitely bend over backwards not to end sentences in prepositions – so your last sentence made me laugh. Also, I initially used Nerddom in the title of my post. However, I agonized over spelling – and dropped it in favor of something else entirely.

    This was a fun one!

  2. Jason Says:

    It appears that “nerdom” yields more Google hits than “nerddom” (58K to 31K), so maybe the former should be the standard spelling. Oddly enough, neither appears in Urban Dictionary. In keeping with the theme, perhaps I should author an OED-style entry for nerdom. Stephen Colbert could do the Wikipedia entry.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

