Where’s Pragmatic?

June 1, 2007

As some of my subscribers may have noticed, I haven’t submitted a posting in three weeks. The last one appeared on the first day of the road trip Diane and I took to North Carolina. As you may have guessed, I have reasons for not posting, but I’m not at liberty yet to explain why. However, as a courtesy to both my readers and other parties, I will just say that the purpose of the trip relates somewhat to my lack of postings, though perhaps not necessarily in the way you might be thinking. Feel free to speculate, but just remember what Ossie Davis’ character said in Do the Right Thing: Those who know, don’t tell, and those who’ll tell, don’t know.

Anyway, enough of the Obi-Wan Kenobi stuff… Now that I have more or less explained my hiatus, I shall resume my semi-regular postings. I should begin by saying that I’m shocked about what happened to Walt Crawford as a result of the RLG/OCLC merger, though I suppose it should come as no surprise. Besides, who are we to question The Invisible Hand and its Infinite Wisdom? Echoing the sentiments of many others in the biblioblogosphere, I hope that Walt can find an employer who actually appreciates what he has to offer the profession.

About the trip, Diane and I enjoyed visiting North Carolina, where we spent time in the Raleigh-Durham-Chapel Hill area. It has a lot more trees and less traffic than the Dallas-Fort Worth, and it doesn’t have the temperature extremes one finds further north or south. The area offers quite a bit to do, especially with a number of excellent universities closeby. Only the most jaded of superficial jetsetters would find Raleigh-Durham-Chapel Hill boring… an apt projection strategy for one lacking personality or intellectual curiosity. As for myself, I look forward to seeing the area again.

2 Responses to “Where’s Pragmatic?”


  1. Thanks for the note. (And I agree about the Research Triangle: a lovely and interesting area.)


  2. [...] 7th, 2007 A few postings ago, I obliquely wrote about a trip Diane and I made last month to North Carolina. Now that things have become [...]


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

